Friday, January 17, 2014

Books received in mail in Jan 2014 (10) (8 novels+2 poetry books)


The Norfolk Mystery by Ian Sansom: 

In The Norfolk Mystery, the first in the County Guides series, we meet Swanton Morley. Eccentric, autodidact - the 'People's Professor.'

Morley plans to write a series of guides to the counties of England. He employs a young assistant, Stephen Sefton, veteran of the Spanish Civil War, and together with Morley's daughter, Miriam, they set off through Norfolk, where their sightseeing tour quickly turns into a murder investigation. As Morley confronts the conventions of class, education and politics in 1930s England, as Sefton flees his memories of the war, and as Miriam seeks romance, join them on their first adventure into the dark heart of England.

When Morley's map leads to mystery, no one is above suspicion!

 Jan 15, 2014

Murder Strikes a Pose by Tracy Weber

When George and Bella—a homeless alcoholic and his intimidating German shepherd—disturb the peace outside her studio, yoga instructor Kate Davidson’s Zen-like calm is stretched to the breaking point. Kate tries to get rid of them before Bella scares the yoga pants off her students. Instead, the three form an unlikely friendship.

One night Kate finds George’s body behind her studio. The police dismiss his murder as a drug-related street crime, but she knows George wasn’t a dealer. So Kate starts digging into George’s past while also looking for someone to adopt Bella before she’s sent to the big dog park in the sky. With the murderer nipping at her heels, Kate has to work fast or her next Corpse Pose may be for real.

Jan 17, 2014

That Old Black Magic by Mary Jane Clark:

Aspiring actress and wedding-cake decorator Piper Donovan has barely arrived in New Orleans to perfect her pastry skills at the renowned French Quarter bakery, Boulangerie Bertrand, when a ghastly murder rocks the magical city. Intrigued by the case, Piper can't help but look for the "Hoodoo Killer" among the faces around her. Could it be the handsome guide eager to give her special private tours? Or the inscrutable jazz musician who plays on historic Royal Street? What about the ratings-starved radio talk-show host? Or even the amiable owner of the local Gris-Gris Bar?
Though Piper has a full plate decorating cakes for upcoming wedding celebrations, she's also landed an exciting but unnerving role in a movie being shot in the Big Easy. When the murderer strikes again, leaving macabre clues, she thinks she can unmask the killer. But Piper will have to conjure up some old black magic of her own if she hopes to live long enough to reveal the truth.

Jan 18, 2014

Dead Set by Will Carver:

Following on from Girl 4 and The Two, Detective Inspector January David is back in a fantastic new thriller.

Detective Inspector January David doesn't love me.
He loves his missing sister. He loves his job.
But he doesn't love me. Not in the way he should.
I am his wife. I am still his wife.
And I will do anything for him.
No matter what I have to sacrifice.


Jan 19, 2014

The Intercept by Dick Wolf

Days before the July Fourth holiday and the dedication of One World Trade Center at Ground Zero, an incident aboard a commercial jet flying over the Atlantic Ocean reminds everyone that vigilance is not a task to be taken lightly. But for iconoclastic NYPD detective Jeremy Fisk, it may also be a signal that there is much more to this case than the easy answer of this being just the work of another lone terrorist.
Fisk—assigned to the department's Intelligence Division, a well-funded antiterror unit modeled on the CIA—suspects that the event might also be a warning sign that another, potentially more extraordinary scheme has been set in motion. Fluent in Arabic and the ways of his opponents, Fisk is a rule breaker who follows his gut—even if it means defying those above him in the department's food chain. So when a passenger from the same plane, a Saudi Arabian national, disappears into the crowds of Manhattan, it's up to Fisk and his partner Krina Gersten to find him before the celebrations begin.
Watching each new lead fizzle, chasing shadows to dead ends, Fisk and Gersten quickly realize that their opponents are smarter and more agile than any they have ever faced. Extremely clever and seemingly invisible, they are able to exploit any security weak-ness and anticipate Fisk's every move . . . and time is running out.
The Execution by Dick Wolf:

NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk—introduced in Law & Order creator Dick Wolf’s New York Timesbestselling debut The Intercept—must stop an assassin in the pay of a shadowy cartel in The Execution, a tense thriller that superbly blends suspense, politics, intrigue and high-flying action in the tradition of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci, and Robert Crais.
Ten days after the Mexican presidential election, twenty-three bodies are discovered beheaded on the United States border, each marked with a carving of a Hummingbird. Detective Cecilia Garza of the Mexican intelligence agency recognizes it: it is the signature of an assassin called Chuparosa. Garza has been pursuing the killer for years, yet knows little about him, except that he’s heading to New York—with the rest of the world.
Scent of Butterflies by Dora Levy Mossanen

A novel singed by the flavors of Tehran, imbued with the Iranian roots of Persepolis and the culture clash of Rooftops of Tehran, this is a striking, nuanced story of a woman caught between two worlds, from the bestselling author of Harem, Courtesan, and The Last Romanov.

A Love So Deep Can Forever Scar the Soul

Such audacity she has, Soraya, a woman who dares to break free of the diamond-studded leash of her culture. A woman who refuses to accept the devastating betrayal her husband has perpetrated. A woman who refuses to forgive her best friend.

Soraya turns her back on Iran, fleeing to America to plot her intricate revenge. The Shah has fallen, her country is in turmoil, her marriage has crumbled, and she is unraveling. The cruel and intimate blow her husband has dealt her awakens an obsessive streak that explodes in the heated world of Los Angeles.

Yet the secret Soraya discovers proves far more devastating than anything she had imagined, unleashing a whirlwind of unexpected events that will leave the reader breathless.

Jan 23, 2014

The Almond Tree by Michelle Cohen Corasanti

Gifted with a brilliant mind that has made a deep impression on the elders of his Palestinian village, Ahmed Hamid is nevertheless tormented by his inability to save his friends and family. Living under occupation, the inhabitants of the village harbour a constant fear of losing their homes, jobs, belongings – and each other. 

On Ahmed’s twelfth birthday, that fear becomes a reality. 

With his father now imprisoned, his family’s home and possessions confiscated and his siblings quickly succumbing to hatred in the face of conflict, Ahmed embarks on a journey to liberate his loved ones from their hardship, using his prodigious intellect. In so doing, he begins to reclaim a love for others that had been lost over the course of a childhood rife with violence, and discovers new hope for the future.

Jan 29, 2014

Controlled Hallucinations by John Sibley Williams

Filled with impassioned logic and musicality, John Sibley Williams’ debut collection strives to reconnect language to the things they describe, to control the uncontrollable by redefining the method of approach. In these compact poems, so edged in dark corners and the strenuous songs of beauty and identity, Williams establishes a unique
world of contradictions and connections that works to bridge the foreign with the familiar. Moving through art and history, through apocalyptic visions and family, into and back out of the paradox of using language to express languagelessness, Controlled Hallucinations weaves universal themes and images with the basic human reality of touch, word, and what is lost in their translation.

Jan 31, 2014

Why Photographers Commit Suicide by Mary McCray

Why Photographers Commit Suicide explores, in small narratives and lyrical poems, the American idea of Manifest Destiny, particularly as it relates to the next frontier—space exploration. Mary McCray examines the scientific, psychological and spiritual frontiers enmeshed in our very human longing for space, including our dream of a space station on Mars. These poems survey what we gain and what we lose as we progress towards tomorrow, and how we can begin to understand the universal melancholy we seem to cherish for what we leave behind, the lives we have already lived. McCray unearths our feelings about what it means to move ahead and stake out new territory, and what it means to be home.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

A-Z Mystery Author Challenge-2014


List of 2014 Reading Challenges

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Books downloaded Free in Jan 2014 (78)

31/01/2014 (1)

30/01/2014 (7)

Naughty by Nature by Judy Angelo
Jubilee's Journey by Bette Lee Crosby
Daughters of the Dagger by Elizabeth Rose
Pioneer Passion by Thérèse A. Kraemer
Lady Star by Claudy Conn
Jennifer's Garden by Dianne Venetta
Beyond Control by Karice Bolton

29/01/2014 (1)

28/01/2014 (1)

26/01/2014 (3)

25/01/2014 (1)

19/01/2014 (4)

Hand Me Down Evil (Hand Me Down Trilogy) by Allison James
Baby, It's Cold Outside by Genevieve Jourdin
Missing Winter by Chris Folk

17/01/2014 (5)
The Clean Home Boxset: Three Best Selling Cleaning and Organizing Books To Help You Keep Your Home Spotless by BJ Knights
Bad Vibes: The Edge of Texas by J. D. Faver

14/01/2014 (2)

Time for Love by Emma Kaye
Scandal--The Death Of a Legacy by Johnny Ray

13/01/2014 (2)

Never Miss a Chance by Maureen Driscoll
The Art of Perfect Bread Baking (Delicious Recipes) by June Kessler

12/01/2014 (2)

His Island Bride by Shadonna Richards
Herbal Remedies Guide: All About Herbal Medicine by Diane Wilson

11/01/2014 (2)

Little Girl Lost by Brian McGilloway
The Billionaire Wins the Game by Melody Anne

10/01/2014 (2)

The Doctor's Secret Bride by Anna E. Ross (READ)
The Good Knight (A Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery) by Sarah Woodbury

08/01/2014 (5)

30 Delicious Dump Cake Recipes by Lori Burke
The Wanderess by Roman Payne 
The Discovery by Dan Walsh
Vada Faith by Barabara A. Whittington
Speak Low by Melanie Harlow 

 07/10/2014 (1)

 Cassie's Cowboy Crave by Kimberly Krey 

 06/01/2014 (8)

Rescue Team by Candace Calvert
A Sandcastle Christmas by J. D. Faver


100 selected Poems by e. e. cummings
The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
100 Greatest Poems by A. E. Housman
Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
Poems by T. S. Eliot
Crown of Thorns by Bethany W. Pope

  04/01/2014 (6)

 The Awakening by Lorhainne Eckhart


These Broken Roads by Francesca Smith
A New Dawn by Francesca Smith
True Emotions by Annabel Hughes
The Collected Poems of Edward M Robertson by Ian Robertson
Burnt Toast by Peter Barns

03/01/2014 (4)

Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries  by Robert van Gulik
Ladd Springs by Dianne Venetta
Out of Control by Mary Connealy
Something About Her by Jeannie Ruesch (READ)

02/01/2014 (8)

Inspector Singh Investigates is a series of crime fiction novels, written by the Asian author, Shamini Flint. I also own the print copies of the last two. 
01/01/2014 (4)

Now and Then by Brenda Rothert 
Surrender to Fate by Jacelyn Rye 
Heiress of Lies by Cege Smith 
Close Liaisons by Anna Zaires